This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this website you are agreeing to our use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.
François Lefebvre

Partner, Lawyer

François Lefebvre

Quebec

Complexe Jules-Dallaire, T1
2828 Laurier Blvd., 12th Floor
Quebec City, Quebec G1V 0B9
CANADA
418 266-4500 418 266-4515

A founding member of BCF’s Quebec City office, François Lefebvre has successfully assisted many Quebec companies through every stage of their growth, and has been an advisor to several major financial institutions. His proven expertise in commercial and banking law has enabled him to advise clients in a variety of sectors, from technology to digital commerce, including restaurant, real estate, manufacturing, industrial and banking.

Over the years, François has participated in the negotiation and drafting of a variety of commercial agreements: acquisition or sale of businesses, shareholders or partner agreements, distribution agreements, commercial leases, service agreements, etc. He has developed specific expertise in business succession, as well as in implementing employee profit-sharing plans, such as stock option plans. In the banking sector, he regularly works on traditional or subordinated financing transactions.

François is an excellent educator, and often gives conferences to entrepreneurs and business stakeholders, including the École d'Entrepreneurship de Beauce, the business transfer centre in Quebec and other economic development organizations. He has also been involved with Entrepreneuriat Laval for nearly 25 years, first as a trainer and then as a director.

  • Called to the Barreau du Québec (1994)
  • LL.B. Université de Sherbrooke (1993)
  • Counsel for sellers in the sale of a controlling interest of a technology company to Chinese interests;
  • Counsel for sellers in the sale of a controlling interest of a manufacturing company to American interests;
  • Counsel for a technology company in multiple equity financing matters involving more than 7 venture capital companies from Quebec and other provinces;
  • Counsel for key employees in the management buy-out of a technology company majority owned by Canadian investment funds;
  • Counsel for three institutional lenders on loans subordinated to a manufacturing company, involving the establishment of security interests in Québec and abroad.
  • For more than 15 years, François has been a trainer and speaker for Entrepreneuriat Laval (a business incubator at Université Laval) on various topics regarding business start-ups (particularly the legal vehicles for a business, shareholder agreements and contracts). He also regularly gives conferences on business succession in a family context or a management buy-out. Finally, François has been a trainer for many years for Centre de formation et de création d’entreprises for the Capitale-nationale School Board.
  • François sits on the board of Entrepreneuriat Laval. François is a jury member for a number of competitions, including the Quebec entrepreneurship competition;
  • François represents the firm at the Centre de transfert d’entreprises de la Capitale-Nationale (CTE), an organization devoted to sensitizing entrepreneurs to the idea of business succession. In addition to sitting on CTE’s Round Table and the Marketing Committee, he regularly acts as spokesperson;
  • Finally, François has been a director of Productions Les Gros Becs, a major youth and children’s theatre production company, for more than 10 years. He has also served as corporate secretary of a venture capital investment fund.

Ce site Web utilise des cookies. En continuant à utiliser ce site Web, vous acceptez que nous utilisions des cookies comme décrit dans notre politique de confidentialité.
François Lefebvre

Associé, avocat

François Lefebvre

Québec

Complexe Jules-Dallaire, T1
2828, boul. Laurier, 12e étage
Québec (Québec) G1V 0B9
CANADA
418 266-4500 418 266-4515

Membre fondateur du bureau de Québec de BCF, François Lefebvre a accompagné avec succès de nombreuses entreprises québécoises à travers toutes les étapes de leur croissance, en plus d’être une référence pour plusieurs institutions financières majeures. Son expertise reconnue en droit commercial comme en droit bancaire lui vaut de conseiller des clients de domaines variés, allant des entreprises technologiques au commerce en ligne, en passant par la restauration, l'immobilier, de même que les secteurs manufacturier, industriel et bancaire.

Au fil des ans, François a participé à la négociation et la réalisation de transactions commerciales de toutes sortes : acquisition ou vente d'entreprises, conventions entre actionnaires ou associés, conventions de distribution, baux commerciaux, ententes de service, etc. Il a développé des expertises particulières pour la relève d'entreprises, de même que dans la mise en place de régimes d'intéressement des employés, tels les régimes d'options d'achat d'actions. Dans le domaine bancaire, il agit régulièrement dans le cadre de financements traditionnels ou subordonnés.

Excellent pédagogue, François donne régulièrement des conférences aux entrepreneurs et intervenants du milieu des affaires, dont notamment à l’École d’entrepreneurship de Beauce, au centre de transfert d’entreprises au Québec et autres organismes de développement économique. Il est également impliqué auprès d’Entrepreneuriat Laval depuis près de 25 ans, d’abord comme formateur puis comme administrateur.

  • Barreau du Québec (1994)
  • LL.B., Université de Sherbrooke (1993)
  • Représentant des vendeurs dans le cadre de la vente d'une participation majoritaire d'une entreprise technologique à des intérêts chinois;
  • Représentant des vendeurs dans le cadre de la vente d'une participation majoritaire d'une entreprise manufacturière à des intérêts américains;
  • Représentant d'une société technologique dans le cadre de multiples financements en équité impliquant plus de sept sociétés de capital de risque provenant du Québec, d'autres provinces;
  • Représentant des employés-clé dans le cadre d'un management buy-out d'une société technologique détenue en majorité par des fonds d'investissement canadiens;
  • Représentant de trois prêteurs institutionnels dans le cadre de prêts subordonnés à une entreprise manufacturière, impliquant la mise en place de sûretés au Québec et à l'étranger.
  • François agit depuis plus de 15 ans comme formateur et conférencier pour Entrepreneuriat Laval (pré-incubateur d'entreprises à l'Université Laval) sur différents sujets entourant le démarrage d'entreprises (notamment les formes juridiques de l'entreprise, les conventions entre actionnaires et les contrats). Il donne également régulièrement des conférences en matière de relève d'entreprise dans un contexte familial ou de management buy-out. Enfin, François a été formateur pendant plusieurs années pour le Centre de formation et de création d'entreprises de la Commission scolaire de la Capitale.
  • François siège au conseil d'administration d'Entrepreneuriat Laval. Il agit aussi comme juré dans le cadre de divers concours, dont le Concours québécois en entrepreneuriat;
  • François représente le cabinet au sein du Centre de transfert d’entreprises de la Capitale-Nationale (CTE), organisme voué à la sensibilisation des entrepreneurs à la relève d’entreprise. En plus de siéger sur la table de concertation et le comité marketing du CTE, il agit régulièrement à titre de porte-parole;
  • Enfin, François a été administrateur pendant plus de dix ans, dont cinq à titre de président, de Productions Les Gros Becs, un important diffuseur de théâtre pour l'enfance et la jeunesse. Il a également siégé à titre de secrétaire pour un fonds d'investissement de capital de risque.